Yesterdays pizza – the only quibble – too much crust

Soup and salad. At least that’s the currrent plan for dinner. But before I eat, I am going write and post this blog. How exciting is that?

I have not done a lot today. Seems like that happens a lot recently. But that’s ok. I don’t have any pressure to do more, not really at least. Any pressure is self imposed just now.

I did do two things that were constructive. First, I ordered a new case for my phone. The casebus one I have is all beaten up and scraped and is missing one of the button covers. They never responded when I asked for a replacement – five times. So definitely time to get a new one. I ordered it from Amazon and somehow got it free. Not really sure why, but I am not going to argue.

The second thing I did was clean out my email messages (from 300+ back down to 35). Which gave me the freedom of brain to write my friend J. He had written me a few times so far this month, and I definitely owed him another note.

Oh, I also cleaned the kitchen a bit. Not a lot. I caught up on dishes, made some caesar dressing – I think I use too little mayonnaise – wiped a few counters and generally gave it a lick and a promise. Not an actual lick…but that is the phrase that my mom used to use when one did just enough to get by. A lick and a promise (to do more, I guess).

Tonight I am actively choosing to miss The Flying Karamazov Brothers at the Smith Opera House. I have seen them a few times, so I am not too terribly upset. I think the venue is a little large for them in any case (is that just sour grapes? Could be). But it is the Smith and I am still boycotting it. Like they care. And I will probably miss The Machine next month for the same reason. Sigh. Am I shooting myself in the foot? Maybe. But I am also protecting myself from going to a place that I used to love and now loathe. And I save money by not patronizing the Smith. Win win?

The first Neuralink patient has been on youtube! So cool. He seems to be really excited about having the BCI (Brain computer interface) and reports nothing terrible so far. He seemed really upbeat and really positive about the experience, the actual device and the possibility of future developments. I think the tech is very cool. I wonder, though, to get limbs working again, won’t more devices need to be attached to the limbs themselves? Hmm. I wonder how that is going to work. I hope they get permission from the FDA for more patient trials. Such an exciting product!

Today was not a dashing day for two reasons. One because I usually take Saturday off. And two, the snow. Yes, last night we got about three inches of snow, maybe more. Hard to tell since I didn’t go out to check. Anyway, I had a thought about doing short rides – I don’t mind short rides unless I have to wait a long time picking up or dropping off. I mean, if it is, whisk in, grab the order, zip to the drop off place and leave it at their door, great! No waiting, an easy few dollars. And it keeps my acceptance rate up. I think I am at 97% just now. But if I have to wait a long time to pick up the stupid, probably no tip order, then I do get a little miffed…

And there we are. All caught up on the exciting doings of Augustus

Augustus lore: I know I have seen TKB at least twice. Maybe three times. I do like them. Mainly because they are funny. But also because, as a passable juggler myself, it is interesting to me to see how they use all sorts of juggling in their shows. I don’t know if I saw them in the New Vaudeville production of A Comedy of Errors (1983 I think) first, or saw them live first. (live it turns out) In any case, that was a very interesting production of Shakespeare’s play. The basic premise, besides the premises in the play itself, was that the people of one country could juggle, the people from the other couldn’t. Fun stuff. I wonder if it is up on you tube. Yes it is!