I feel like Willie Nelson, or the Grateful Dead. It is fun to be on the road.

After waking up at my usual time, I went back to sleep. Woo hoo! Then I eventually got up, packed (hahahaha – electronics, socks, toothpaste and that’s about it), packed the car and hit the road. (And I forgot stuff – see below)

I decided to take the Skenic (which is how my mom sometimes said scenic) route from my house to the Airbnb in Catskill NY. My car did the route planning, but I adapted it a teeny bit. It wanted to me slide into the Oneonta supercharger with only 10% charge left. Not my idea of a good time. So I asked the car to take me to a supercharger in Ithaca. I had seen it before, and might have used it once. I only added about 20% I think. I just wanted some more battery cushion for the next leg of the trip. There were no handy restaurants at the charger in Ithaca, not that I was hungry or wanted to take that long at that stop.

Next stop, the Oneonta supercharger. When I got there, a pickup with a trailer was parked across 5 of the 8 chargers. I politely asked him to move after explaining that we were asked to park in every other spot so as not to have two cars on one spigot if we could avoid it. After asking me about charging a bit, he moved without giving me any attitude. That was good. I also had a nice chat with a guy who had a pretty Model X. He said he got it really cheap at some dealer! Good for him – they all look pretty expensive to me – at least from Tesla. (Tesla doesn’t seem to have any used cars in my area…) He and his wife also have a model Y. Always a pleasure to talk with nice Tesla owners!

While there, I went to the bathroom and went in search of a non-chain place to eat. There was a mall nearby, so I walked there. As I was heading off, my phone told me that according to Tesla I had enough charge to take the next (final) leg of my trip. But I decided to just let it keep charging while I got food. I didn’t see anyplace that looked exciting, so I got a decent slice of pizza and headed back to the car. While in the mall, I saw a display of can art, like the picture below. Weird?

I think it is a castle?

The last leg of the trip was a little enervating. Probably the pizza was making me sleepy. In any case, it went by pretty quickly. There was a weird bunch of Irish stuff in one town. A few cool looking places to eat. A strange castle that did functions. And a sign for Howe Caverns and an Iroquois Museum (on the property of the Howe Caverns). I am toying with the idea of visiting them both on Sunday. If I were with someone, I would let them make the decision. The cavern is a little pricey. But it is well reviewed. And I do like caves (but I could never spelunk). I’ll float the idea tomorrow and see if anyone nudges me in one direction or another.

Looks like no firm plans for tonight. I think I will just grab a bite at a nearby diner. And then head over to the supercharger and charge up for Saturday. And then come back to the Airbnb and hangout. Maybe get some beer or something.

I realized about two hours into the trip that bringing the balloons would have been a good idea. I had completely not computed that there are going to be a whole lot of kids under 10 in attendance. Sigh.

Ok, off to do things and then back here to not do much. So excited! Adventures!!